Pixel code
Eligibilty Criteria

Eligibility Criteria: Nationality

All applicants must possess any of the following requirements:

  • A resident of India, a Nepalese civilian, a Bhutanese subject, or a Tibetan migrant who arrived in India before January 1, 1962, to live indefinitely in India.
  • A person of Indian heritage who has moved to India from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, or East African nations such as Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, or Vietnam to stay indefinitely.
  • Candidates from any of the (2), (3), (4), and (5) categories must provide an admissibility certification issued by the Government of India.

Eligibility for Ex-Servicemen

Ex-servicemen will refer to those who are classified as such in the ex-servicemen act.

Ex-Servicemen and commissioned officers, including ECOs/SSCOs, who are discharged on their desire will not be eligible for the age concessions.

Educational Qualifications Eligibility

Candidates' educational requirements fulfill the following conditions for enrollment:

  • The candidate must have a bachelor's degree from a recognized university.
  • Applicants who have undertaken or will take the qualifying examination and are awaiting results are also eligible to apply.
  • Candidates having government-recognized professional and technical qualifications, or their equivalents, are also eligible to apply.
  • Candidates who have completed the last year of their MBBS or any other Medical Examination but have yet to finish their internship can also sit for the Mains Exam. Such candidates must provide a certificate from the relevant university proving that they cleared the final professional medical assessment.

Age Eligibility Requirements

A candidate must be at least 21 years old and not have reached the age of 30 on August 1st of the examination year. The following candidates will have their upper age limit relaxed:

  • Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST): Up to 5 years.
  • OBC: up to three years.
  • State of Jammu and Kashmir (Domiciled from January 1, 1980, to December 31, 1989): Up to 5 years.
  • Personnel in the armed forces (disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area and released as a consequence thereof): up to 5 years
  • Ex-servicemen (including commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs): Up to 5 years
  • Blind, deaf-mute, and orthopedically challenged people: up to ten years.

Cumulative Age Relaxation

SC, ST, and OBC individuals who are also insured by the other clauses indicated above would be entitled to cumulative age relaxation in both classifications.

Frequency of Attempts

The maximum number of attempt restrictions has been in existence since the 1984 examination. If there are any further eligibility requirements: Attempts are limited to seven for general candidates. There are no restrictions for SC/ST. 9 chances for OBC.

Exam Pattern

ICFS Prelims Exam Pattern

For the preliminary stage of the ICFS recruitment process, the UPSC exam pattern is made up of two examinations that are administered on the same day. The objective-type questions on both examinations include multiple-choice responses.

The ICFS Prelims examination is a screening process that qualifies applicants for the Mains exam. The scores achieved at this stage do not go toward the final merit list, but applicants should study hard for this examination because cut-offs change year to year and are based on the overall average.

The following are the UPSC Prelims examination pattern details:

Exam Pattern – Prelims
Paper Type No. of questions Total Marks Duration Negative marks
General Studies I Objective 100 200 2 hours Yes
General Studies II (CSAT) Objective 80 200 2 hours Yes
Total UPSC marks for Prelims 400 (where GS Paper II is qualifying in nature with minimum qualifying marks fixed at 33%)

ICFS Main Exam Pattern

The UPSC Mains examination comprises nine sessions administered over a period of 5-7 days. Only those applicants who scored at least the specified cut-off in General Studies I and 33 percent in General Studies II in the Prelims examination would be eligible to take the Mains exam.

All of the papers of the UPSC main examination comprise descriptive response style questions, according to the exam format. It is a time-consuming process, and your total marks in the UPSC Mains will have a direct impact on your overall score.

As a result, the UPSC exam results for the Mains phase are immensely important since they are used to determine qualification.

The following are the details of the UPSC exam pattern, along with their respective marks:

UPSC Examination Pattern – Mains
Paper Subject Duration Total marks
Paper A Compulsory Indian language 3 hours 300
Paper B English 3 hours 300
Paper I Essay 3 hours 250
Paper II General Studies I 3 hours 250
Paper III General Studies II 3 hours 250
Paper IV General Studies III 3 hours 250
Paper V General Studies IV 3 hours 250
Paper VI Optional I 3 hours 250
Paper VII Optional II 3 hours 250

Except for the language exams A and B, all of the main papers are merit-based. Papers A and B are qualifying papers, and applicants must achieve at least 25% in each to have their results from Paper I through Paper VII recognized.

Applicants from Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Sikkim, as well as candidates with hearing impairment, are spared from Paper A if they can show that they've been absolved from such 2nd or 3rd English classes by their respective board or institution. The Indian Language paper outlines any of the dialects listed in the Constitution's 8th Schedule.


One of the most essential aspects of the ICFS examination is the interview. It's important that you express yourself properly to the interviewers. As a result, you should concentrate on improving your communication and body language.

Admission Open 2023