Pixel code

SCO Full Form: Members, Economic, Interbank

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) stands as an important alliance with political, economic and security sectors in the Eurasian Union. It was established on 15 June 2001 by the combined efforts of China, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan (although Uzbekistan’s participation was suspended in 2012 and completely withdrawn in 2015), but with its intention place greater emphasis on safety and nutrition economic relationships and practices , as well as promoting cultural exchange. Its main objective is to facilitate the integration of the sector.

Sco Image

Members of the SCO?

As of my last knowledge update in September 2021, the member countries of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) are:

  1. India
  2. Russia
  3. China
  4. Pakistan
  5. Kazakhstan
  6. Uzbekistan
  7. Tajikistan
  8. Kyrgyzstan

How does the SCO work?

The Shanghai Organization for Cooperation (SCO) is a Eurasian political, economic and security alliance that aims to promote cooperation among member states The organization focuses primarily on addressing regional security challenges, by promoting economic cooperation and promoting cultural and humanitarian exchanges. Here’s how the SCO works:

  1. Principles and Objectives: The SCO operates based on the principles of mutual respect for sovereignty, non-interference in each other’s internal affairs, and peaceful coexistence.
  2. Decision-Making Structure: The SCO operates on a consensus-based decision-making model, where all member states need to agree on decisions and initiatives.
  3. Summit Meetings: The highest decision-making body of the SCO is the Council of Heads of State, which holds annual summit meetings.
  4. Council of Heads of Government: This council, comprising the prime ministers of member states, focuses on economic and trade cooperation.
  5. Council of Foreign Ministers: The foreign ministers of member states meet to discuss and coordinate foreign policy, security, and counterterrorism efforts.

Economic Collaboration of SCO

  • The economic collaboration within the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) serves as a pivotal driver of growth and development among its member states. With a focus on strengthening regional ties, the SCO promotes various initiatives aimed at fostering economic prosperity.
  • Trade facilitation stands at the forefront of these efforts, seeking to simplify and expedite cross-border trade processes. By harmonizing regulations and reducing trade barriers, member states aim to create a more seamless environment for the exchange of goods and services.
  • Investment promotion is another cornerstone of SCO’s economic collaboration. Member states work collectively to attract investments that contribute to economic growth and industrial development within the region. This is achieved through the creation of favourable investment climates and the removal of obstacles that hinder productive investment activities.

SCO Interbank Consortium?

The SCO Interbank Consortium (SCO IBC) was established by the Council of Heads of Government on 26 October 2005 to provide funding and bank services for investment projects sponsored by the governments of the SCO member states. The SCO IBC Council meets ad hoc upon the consensus of all of the parties at least once per year. The Presidency of the Council is carried out on a rotational basis.

SCO and Geopolitics

  • Regional Stability: SCO plays a crucial role in maintaining stability in its member states, which are located in a geopolitically sensitive region.
  • Counterterrorism: The organization focuses on combating terrorism, separatism, and extremism, addressing security challenges that impact regional geopolitics.
  • Cooperation Platform: SCO provides a diplomatic forum for member states to discuss and address geopolitical issues collectively.
  • Mutual Understanding: Regular meetings and interactions among member states enhance mutual understanding, reducing potential for conflicts.
  • Non-Alignment: SCO’s principles of non-interference and respect for sovereignty prevent alignment with major global power blocs, offering an independent geopolitical platform.
  • Regional Power Balance: SCO’s influence helps prevent the dominance of any single power, promoting a balanced geopolitical landscape.
  • Dialogue Partner: SCO engages with other countries and organizations, contributing to broader geopolitical dialogue and cooperation.


In conclusion, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) stands as a multifaceted platform that plays a pivotal role in shaping the dynamics of its member states and the broader region. As a forum for political, economic, and security collaboration.

FAQ'S about SCO

The SCO has eight full member states: China, Russia, India, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and Kyrgyzstan.

The SCO was founded on June 15, 2001, in Shanghai, China.

The main objectives of the SCO include maintaining regional stability, countering terrorism, separatism, and extremism, promoting economic development, and fostering cultural and humanitarian exchanges.

The SCO places a strong emphasis on combating terrorism, separatism, and extremism through intelligence sharing, joint military exercises, and collaborative efforts among member states.

Most Popular Article's

Career Counselling & Services

Psychometric Tests:

21st Century Skills & Learning Test: